What's in a noise?

Need advice on which oil to use or which tyre best suits you? Share your topic and get help here.
Demonic69

What's in a noise?

Post by Demonic69 »

Hi All
So I'm new to V-Twins and still getting used to the thumping going on near my sensitive areas.
I've been riding it for a week or so now and it's certainly good fun, but I can't tell if it's running right or if I'm just imagining things.
More recently (after a run out last weds) it seems to sound like it's slapping a bit, that's the only way I can explain it! The noise from the exhaust is a bit more like a bang than a rumble and it seems to want to backfire and burble on the overrun.
Am I just being paranoid or is there somewhere I could start looking?

Cheers
macdee

Re: What's in a noise?

Post by macdee »

If you sort out the cct on the bike most of the worries will leave you as far as the engines goes
Mcct or stopper mod for peace of mind
told you not to but oh no you knew better
Demonic69

Post by Demonic69 »

Thanks for the reply.
It's got manual CCTs already, not sure how to know when to adjust them. Just reading through the reams of information you guys have (seriously, I'm a member of lots of forums and not a one has the vast knowledge base this one does!)

Cheers
Wicky

Post by Wicky »

Turn up to an event (Workshop day/ rideout) so somebody can listen to your Storm beastie for untoward noises that can be hard to describe in words.

The most common noises are 'carb fart' (perfectly normal), suck squash bang & blow, and the occaisonal CCT 'death rattle'. Banging on overrun usually a sign of fuel weakness/airleak in the exhaust /intake. Have you checked the header/link pipe gasket seal and manifold gasket for leaks? Carbs seated properly ? And if you have a more freer flowing aftermarket can this will be noiser than standard and might need rejetting/dynoing for optimum performance.
It may be that your whole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others.