Thinking of buying/fitting GPS

General Bike chat
craigybaby

Thinking of buying/fitting GPS

Post by craigybaby »

Hey

Have seen the Garmin streetpilot i3 for sale at 120quid from Halfords.

Anyone know if they're any good?

Also, how difficult would it be to mount one under the screen or on the bars of the storm?

How difficult would it to be made waterproof?

Anyone got any ideas or solutions to get a GPS thingy cheap. I don't fancy paying more than 200quid absolute tops for one
Stormtrooper

Post by Stormtrooper »

I have a mate with one fitted he has drilled and tapped the top yoke(blackbird) and has it on a proper holder mount...dont know what he does for the waterproofing?perhaps polly bag? i will have to sak when i see him.
tony.wilde1

Post by tony.wilde1 »

i bought mine from halfords.however i use it for work ,im a delivery driver,and i have to go round central london,and it works fine mate!!havent tried it on the bike yet.garmin i3 does exactly what it says on the tin(box) :D

to waterproof it would be a matter of sticking it in a plastic bag..and the sucker mount would be great on the face of the tacho for a mount.no worries mate.go buy it!! :wink:
ImageImageImageImage
SILVER ZIPPER

Post by SILVER ZIPPER »

Dos'nt the goverment want us to have tracking on all vehicle's. 8O
Gps= time,distance, speed. Why pay for something that will be compulsary anyway. :?
Just look at a map write your route on a bit of paper and stick it to your rev counter.
I just guess when i'm ridding i find some good road's that way. :D
I HATE IT WHEN I HAVE TO PUT IT AWAY........
Rincewind

Post by Rincewind »

but being in the middle of nowehere without a petrol station in sight, is not something i intend to find myself and the bike in

thats why i use a gps :wink:

all be it the Tom tom

the garmin is ok, just a smaller screen, dunno if there is a facility to get the directions into a headset tho' which would be helpful