Riding help...leaning

General Bike chat
AlmostThere

Riding help...leaning

Post by AlmostThere »

Hey all,

Some of you may know already that I'm new to riding. Thankfully I've had a fair amount of seat time (although not as much as I'd like, at best one day a week) over the past few months and my confidence is building as I get used to riding and the bike.

I've been learning to lean more in the corners but I could do with some help/advice/tips before I end up in the bushes.

Front (Dunlop Sportsmart, fairly new (not by me), running 32psi)

Rear (Michelin Pilot Street Radial, squared off (not by me), running 36 psi)

1) Is it normal to have such a difference between front and rear 'chicken strips'. I can see the angle of the tyre falls off sharply on the front (relative to rear) which (I'm presuming) accounts for some (most?) of the difference.

2) How do you know when you have reached edge of tyre and should stop pushing for more lean? I can feel things get a little 'lumpy' at the higher lean but what happens past that?

3) Does the Firestorm have a tendency to push the nose in corners? Sometimes where there is a change in surface/ rough patch I can feel the front end push wide (the rear doesn't seem to move much: does that mean I need to move my body back a bit and take weight off the front?). Not had that happen when the surface is uniform/smooth.

4) How much grip is actually available? I was watching some videos online and the answer to that by someone was 'more than you think'...hmm :think: Is there much feedback once you get near the tyre's limit? Finding somewhere to practice doing low speed/high lean figure of 8's is not easy. There is a riding school close that allows people to use their cones/markings when they're closed but the place has a surprising amount of small/fine stones littering the yard!)