How many of you are...

General Biker Banter
Ckennedy

How many of you are...

Post by Ckennedy »

It occured to me earlier that with some of the threads I have created on here from time to time I must seem a bit like a muppet with some really simple questions like, how to get right size leathers and cornering questions (here is where the title comes in) but I am the first biker in my family. None of my parents ride bikes (well my mum does pillion for cycle races) but I started riding before her, none of my grandparents and I do not really know any of my mums side of the family.

So being the first biker it is all rather new, been riding since I was nearly 17, wow 4 years now 8O 8O

I get called vain because I wash the bike and keep it clean and like it to look good and none of them really understand why I love my bikes so much.

So how many of you are first time bikers in your family and how did/do you find it being the "odd" one out?
lloydie

How many of you are...

Post by lloydie »

I'm 3rd gen biker and both sides of my family were bikers :-)
It's in the blood you know !

Both my grandads and my great uncle used to race the TT I'm told on bonnies .
I'm still trying to find more info on this but its hard work as the people that know are no longer with us .
I can remember going to my nans up till I was ten and looking at my pops old race bonnies in the garage he had 3 of them all in pristine condition and reAdy to race .
. My nan sold them all and the spares before we could ride them .
My mum and dad never owned a bike tho they were always pillion .
Tho my mum used to take pops bonnies out when he was away working lol .

It was my cuz that really got me hooked on bikes .
As kids we used to stop at my ants over the summer hols . And as my cuz was/is 8 years older he always had a bike or two in reasonable condition (both wheels without punchers ) we used to take over the woods :-)
Last edited by lloydie on Mon Apr 01, 2013 1:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
templ8