bike wont rev out

New here? Come in and introduce yourself
fireman

bike wont rev out

Post by fireman »

Hello,

I am new to this site and was looking for any possible answers as to why my VTR 1000 wont rev pass 6500 rpm. The bike goes super well up to this point and then stops. It feels like it is choking like the jetting is wrong or something. Any ideas as how to get it sorted would be very welcome as I only have the bike two months and am totally loving the experience. However that feeling would only get better if I can sort out this problem.
Miztaziggy

Re: bike wont rev out

Post by Miztaziggy »

Have you done your CCTs or cam chain something recently?

Im no expert, but I think someone here will tell you that the engine has been set up with the cams facing the wrong way or something. There have been a few of these sorts of problems.
fireman

Post by fireman »

Thanks

The CCT's have been changed before I bought and im told by the lad I bought it off that it has a stage two dynojet but I am not up to speed about this I am currently reading up on it to try understand it
benny hedges

Post by benny hedges »

yeh what ziggy says, more than likely the cam timing has been set 180 degrees out.
relatively easy to put right with minimal tools.
follow the guide in the workshop section on fitting cct's.

same procedure applies for manual and auto tensioners.
chances are the person who fitted them followed the haynes manual which is very misleading.
im assuming the bike is a bit lame low down and wont pull beyond 6500 - 7ooo rpm?
You do not have to say anything. But it may harm your defence if you do not mention when posting something which you later rely on in quote. Anything you do say may be ripped to sh*t.
fireman

Post by fireman »

Thanks

I will read up on that now. Your spot on saying that it wont rev past 6500-7000 which is a shame cos Im loving owning this V twin.
Miztaziggy

Post by Miztaziggy »