Brake Caliper Upgrade

Where all the workshop knowledge lives together.
AMCQ46

Brake Caliper Upgrade

Post by AMCQ46 »

This subject has loads of coverage, and there is lots of good technical data on the various forum, so before I decided what I was going to use I had to do my research.............I am an engineer, its what I do!

So having searched all the Firestorm / Superhawk sites, I lifted all the piston size data [caliper & Master cyl] and ran them through an XL sheet to get a better view of the hydraulic ratios.

I cant put the XL sheet on here, but here is a picture of the table of data I got so far, with the piston diameters [mm], Master cyl piston area [mm2], the total caliper piston area [for all 8 pistons, mm2], then I have calculated the hydraulic leverage [the ratio of the MC piston area to total caliper piston area].

If I assume all other factors are equal [ie the mechanical leverage ratio of the brake lever to the master cylinder, the disc diameter and the pad friction], then the best braking power will come from a combination of Caliper area, and leverage ratio. For good leverage ratio you actually want a very small MC diameter, but then you would end up with a long lever stroke in order to displace enough fluid to move all the caliper pistons the required amount.
A bigger MC will give less hydraulic leverage, but will give less lever travel, so will have a stiffer lever feel.

What is surprising is that the standard Storm has a good leverage ratio, but very small caliper pistons...hence why the other systems give better braking.

I will be using the CBR600F calipers and MC, as they look good on this compare, they allow better pads from the blade or the SP1/2 to be used, and they are cheaper on e-bay!!

Will have to wait till spring before I can tell you what the improvement is, but I thought I would share this in case others are looking at a brake upgrade as part of the winter overhaul.