Mobile van on the B3157

Where are the boys in blue hiding??????
Smudger27

Mobile van on the B3157

Post by Smudger27 »

The B3157 is the Weymouth to Bridport coast road, pretty straight until you get to Portisham then is tighter, it’s locally known a a mini IOM section. Thus speed limits have been dropped to 50mph and camera vans pop up to catch not just bikers but cars too.

I have a question regarding speeding ….
I saw the camera van possibly to late as I was going pretty quickly but stopped the bike about 400m away from the van. I then looked all over as if the bike had an issue and after 5min+ I turned bike around and rode off at about 5mph.
What is the criteria for bikes and a camera van? He more than likely got me at distance but no reg plate showing. When I rode off in opposing direction I was walking pace but reg plate was showing. Can or do they correlate images?
I’m not a novice when it comes to points for speeding but I’ve not had this scenario either.
Pete.L
Forum Health And Safety Officer

Re: Mobile van on the B3157

Post by Pete.L »

Good question.
I think if you looked different from the rear as you rode away they would have a hard time proving it was you. Any under cracker stains they wouldn't have seen from the front? Or a Blue bike speeding towards them and a brown one leaving? 8O
My new ride is a bit of a Howler and I love to make her Squeal
Smudger27

Post by Smudger27 »

Pete.L wrote: Mon Aug 28, 2023 6:54 pm Good question.
I think if you looked different from the rear as you rode away they would have a hard time proving it was you. Any under cracker stains they wouldn't have seen from the front? Or a Blue bike speeding towards them and a brown one leaving? 8O
😂
if they kept video running for over 5min then I guess they’d see start to finish but a fair few cars came past in both directions so would he/she then divert the camera to them?
My riding gear I guess looks the same front to back other than I had tinted inside visor flipped down.