thinking about doing a bit of off roading!

General Bike chat
hugeduck

thinking about doing a bit of off roading!

Post by hugeduck »

after watching some off roading and where i live it would be perfect (lincolnshire). but i've never done it before so i literaly dont have a clue where to start. looking at the honda xr 400 and they look ideal, light, enough power for the commute if needs be and CHEAP! plus i can just keep the storm for nice days!

any suggestions?

cheers :thumbup:
AMCQ46

Re: thinking about doing a bit of off roading!

Post by AMCQ46 »

A good xr will still hold its value well, and a cheap one will be trashed....the engines need oil changes.

But any enduro or trail bike is a good place to start, there are loads of options from old bikes like DT or TS or xl 175 / 250. To newer things like the DR350 then up to date with the DRZ.

the old ones will be half project, half greenlaner, the newer ones will be better off road, but that just lets you ride faster...you can have as much fun on an old piece of crap with good knobbly tyres.
AMcQ
hugeduck

Post by hugeduck »

AMCQ46 wrote:A good xr will still hold its value well, and a cheap one will be trashed....the engines need oil changes.

But any enduro or trail bike is a good place to start, there are loads of options from old bikes like DT or TS or xl 175 / 250. To newer things like the DR350 then up to date with the DRZ.

the old ones will be half project, half greenlaner, the newer ones will be better off road, but that just lets you ride faster...you can have as much fun on an old piece of crap with good knobbly tyres.
i'd prefer something old and sh1t lol but nothing too sh1t if you know what i mean, i'd get a 250 but would want something i can use on the road and having a 250 would do my nut it lol.

my brother had an xl 600 but that what just to big and heavy
AMCQ46

Post by AMCQ46 »