Security at work

General Bike chat
ktd001

Security at work

Post by ktd001 »

One of my colleagues has just had his R1 nicked at work. It was disc-locked and under a cctv camera but 2.5 minutes and one white van later, he's walking home. Nobody takes any notice of the van, clever huh? So, has anybody got any ideas for where we can a good security quote from (I work in the public sector so they're tight as arseholes which means the cheaper the better)? I've suggested bolting some scaffold poles to the wall at ankle height for us to chain to but they will have to get 3 quotes from different (proper) companies. If you have any names it will help, I don't want the bastuds nicking my 'Storm, else I'm going home on the tube, in the heat, yeeurch!

Kenif
iggy1966

Post by iggy1966 »

Sorry to hear about your mates R1, best thing, as you say, is to have something solid to lock the bikes too like a good railing or similar, anything that means the thieving ba*tards have to spend time trying will just make them go away, bikes with disk locks are easy cos they can just lift it into the van and take it somewhere and then get the lock off. Can't recommend any one in particular but I've just fitted some "D" shaped galvanised steel hoops both for cycles and bikes and they cost £150 each fitted by a local contractor, just a bent section of steel tube concreted into the ground. Works a treat.

Hope this helps

Ian
"Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut."
firestorm996

Post by firestorm996 »

Would they let you leave a couple of paving slabs (the f*&k off heavy ones) with a ground anchor bolted thru em permanently in place? That'd be almost as effective.
Firestorm996
'98 VTR in black - road whore - track bitch
reposado

Post by reposado »

If you go to http://www.bikesource.co.uk and search for security there's a few installers of the anchor type thingys
ktd001

heavy stuff

Post by ktd001 »