hi all

New here? Come in and introduce yourself
RAPIDROLLIN

hi all

Post by RAPIDROLLIN »

i passed my test september last year and bought a 2001 bright yellow firestorm and lovin every minute, but alas i have a problem, broke down thusday night and after chatting to a fellow biker who stopped was advised it was the regulater rectifier, so got a new pattern part off ebay , replaced battery as other one dead, bike started straight away but no movement on rev guage and headlight not working rest of electrics seem to be fine, so is it going to be a fuse(i checked box under seat with 10 band 20 amp fuses all fine)or have i cooked the clock? cheers in advance any advise
pinkyfloyd

Re: hi all

Post by pinkyfloyd »

Might not be the same for your storm as it is for mine and bear in mind I'm no mechanic but I've 2 sets of wires leading from my battery terminals positive side. One seems to be the bikes electrics and if thats not connected properly it tends to stop working. Also check the connections under the seat because thats where the main loom seems to be. Chances are you may have knocked a connection loose in there.

I'm sure there will be other members on to give you a more detailed discription of what may be wrong.

Welcome to the forum and I'm sure when the bikes running propperly you'll come to love the beastie.
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes, I'll see you on the dark side of the moon.
History:....CZ125....RXS100.....Lifan LF125-14F.....Suzuki GSXR750
Current:...1999 VTR FIRESTORM!
RAPIDROLLIN

Post by RAPIDROLLIN »

i did notice the rev counter stopped workin when rectifier gave up, revs dropped to nothin even though i was still revving the engine , also the neutral light and stand light still work, the rev counter is pure electical??so where is the fuse for this? full beam works on lights so probabaly popped the lights
AMCQ46

Post by AMCQ46 »

Welcome to the forum.