To buy or not to buy...?

General Biker Banter
kwak246

To buy or not to buy...?

Post by kwak246 »

Hello guys & girls

I'm new on here and need some help please. To give some background - I've always loved twins (used to have SV650) but didnt have any intentions of buying a road bike (currently race motocross) until I was offered a VTR1000 buy a friend yesterday which has now made me really want one just for a Sunday afternoon in the summer kind of thing.

I'd really appreciate your opinions on what I am being offered - it's a 1997 VTR1000 Firestorm in red, my concern at this stage is the mileage which is 31k. After a bit of googling it's seems pretty apparant they have problem with the CCT. If I did buy it the first thing I'd want to do is carry out the relevant CCT work as a precaution - unfortunately I have zero mechanical knowledge so would be using local bike shops for all the work. Can someone please explain what exactly needs doing to the CCT's, I've heard about replacing with manual ones. Is it an expensive job to have done?

Secondly - are there any other things I need to consider with a bike of this mileage?

Finaly - Its been offered to me at £1500 which I could maybe get down to £1400 - does this seem about right?

Sorry to ask so many questions, but any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Ta, Rob
bazza696

Re: To buy or not to buy...?

Post by bazza696 »

For a start you have got the best colour, the mileage is not a problem due to these bikes being made well and very low stressed engines. Tony.mon and others have over 55k on theirs.

The thing to look for is any damage to the plastics cause mine is a 97 and they do get a bit brittle with age.

The bike should have been looked after, as we are those type of people on here you don't usually get hooligans riding these bikes.

See if it still has the Honda automatic CCT's, I say that cause itt is getting rare to find a `storm that age without someone possibly fitting them.