Jerky feeling at 60mph

Need advice on which oil to use or which tyre best suits you? Share your topic and get help here.
NeilwithYellowVTR

Jerky feeling at 60mph

Post by NeilwithYellowVTR »

Hi guys, just wondered if anyone knows what a likely cause is of a problem I've been having with my VTR lately.

Bought it a couple months back and never test rode it at speed.
But what i've noticed is that at speeds of around 60mph it gets a little jerky - almost feels like the petrol is trying to splash out of the tank..it seems pretty fine above 70 but in-between it seems pretty jerky at times. Doesn't happen all the time but often.

Grateful for any assistance, I'm a total mechanics newbie.
Cheers
MacV2

Re: Jerky feeling at 60mph

Post by MacV2 »

NeilwithYellowVTR wrote: Thu Jan 17, 2019 4:58 pm Hi guys, just wondered if anyone knows what a likely cause is of a problem I've been having with my VTR lately.

Bought it a couple months back and never test rode it at speed.
But what i've noticed is that at speeds of around 60mph it gets a little jerky - almost feels like the petrol is trying to splash out of the tank..it seems pretty fine above 70 but in-between it seems pretty jerky at times. Doesn't happen all the time but often.

Grateful for any assistance, I'm a total mechanics newbie.
Cheers
Carb fart...do you get a kinda clunk felt through the tank...Quite a commom trait, big carbs...big carb farts...
Making up since 2007, sometimes it's true...Honest...
NeilwithYellowVTR

Yes I do. |Is it normal? Fixable?
Cheers
MacV2

Post by MacV2 »

NeilwithYellowVTR wrote: Thu Jan 17, 2019 5:38 pm Yes I do. |Is it normal? Fixable?
Cheers
Well you could get it on a dyno & see if they can tune out the issue but as the VTR carbs are the biggest ever fitted to a road bike, there has to be some compromise some where...have a read through this... viewtopic.php?f=31&t=28922

& this... viewtopic.php?f=31&t=18430

& this...viewtopic.php?f=31&t=29429