Fireblade fork swap

Need advice on which oil to use or which tyre best suits you? Share your topic and get help here.
CraigVTR

Fireblade fork swap

Post by CraigVTR »

Hi Guys, I'm new to the storm and am after a bit of help and advice if possible?

I'm looking at doing a fork swap on my storm to 1998 fireblade (918) Right way up forks. Now I'd really like to retain the storm front wheel to keep them matching front and rear, plus I like the subtle approach to modifying. I will also upgrade the calipers to those from an early injected blade, 929 or 959 ect with master cylinder to match.

Now I know the axles are at the very least the same diameter, what I'm looking to find out is...
1. Do I need to use a blade axle for a different length with the 918 legs.
2. Will I need different discs (If so what model should I be looking at taking them from),
3. And last of all will I need custom spacers machined up?

Many thanks for anyone's help and advice!
StuartWags

Re: Fireblade fork swap

Post by StuartWags »

mine was already done when i got the bike, so i can really answer all the questions but if you are anywhere near spalding area you are welcome to have a look at the end result .
StuartWags

Post by StuartWags »

congratulations on you first post by the way
mik_str

Post by mik_str »

If you switch to 1998 forks you will need the entire front end as nothing transfers over. Going to a 95-96 set-up allows you transfer most components over (ie. axle, wheel, rotors) As for calipers, the 98 Blade calipers are the same as the 929 and SP1 units, save for the colour.
99 VTR1000F Firestorm, a.k.a. The Carbon Express
alanfjones1411

Post by alanfjones1411 »

Welcome to the forum
SO WHEN DOES THIS OLD ENOUGH TO KNOW BETTER KICK IN
sirch345
Site Admin

Post by sirch345 »