Misfire

Need advice on which oil to use or which tyre best suits you? Share your topic and get help here.
Solarboy

Misfire

Post by Solarboy »

Hi Gents,
I have just carried out a plug change on my Storm and I thought all was good. Went to take the bike out and it started misfiring like it was only running on one cylinder. I took the bike home, checked the plugs, all okay and fired it up in my garden. It runs sweet for a little while and then the same thing happens. It sounds to me like the rear cylinder is having fuel starvation issues and the rear cylinder exhaust temp is well below the front temp. I have checked the valve on the tank and I'm getting good fuel flow out of both outlets. I'm thinking that when I took the tank off the first time that something may have gone down the pipe to the rear carb and partially blocked the carb? I'm an engineer but not a mechanic and some good advice would be gratefully relieved.
:(
Thanks all.
If we don't learn from our mistakes we are destin to repeat them
MacV2

Re: Misfire

Post by MacV2 »

Poss just a pinched pipe either fuel or vac pipe.

The vac pipe is on the correct spigot on the petcock ? It should be on the one @90* not the one that comes straight down ?

Also worth checking if you have a T peice inline on the vac pipe for a carb balance take off that the tube is sealed shut...
Making up since 2007, sometimes it's true...Honest...
Solarboy

Post by Solarboy »

Hi Mac,

Yea I have the vac pipe on the small port on the bottom of the tank valve between the two out lets. I have checked the vac pipe back to where it goes into the rear cylinder and there doesn't appear to be any tee.