Triumph Daytona

General Bike chat
Kev L

Triumph Daytona

Post by Kev L »

To my eternal shame I have never owned a proper old school British bike. When I started riding the Japanese had more than a foot in the door, rather they had fully entered the premises, rogered the British motorcycle industry, wiped their d1ck on the curtains and evicted them!!
So now as I near 60 I have the offer of a Triumph T100T Daytona on a G plate 68/69. Do any of the older members or those working in the industry have any observations on this model?
The bike is owned by a mate of mine from work, was rebuilt 30 years ago, just before he bought it.
I sort of fell in love with a 70 Daytona when I was a 14 and working in a bike shop in Lower Sydenham. Pushing the maroon, grey and gold pin striped bike in and out every day was a pleasure. However when I got to 16 I was seduced by a Fizzy then a Gt250 and a succession of Japanese (mainly) bikes.
So good idea or not?
Carpe diem, quam minimum credula postero
F3, 954 USD front, K Tech springs, Braced swinger, Penske shock, Six spoke Mockesini wheels, Harris rearsets, QaT, Flywheel diet!, A&L stacks, stick coils, K&N, FP Ti jets, lashings of Ti & CF
Stratman

Re: Triumph Daytona

Post by Stratman »

I had one, back in the day. Metallic purple with open megaphone exhausts. I'd have it back like a shot, hoping that modern gaskets and goo could keep it oil tight :-)
You have to rev them surprisingly hard. Had to sell mine as I started playing in a band and there was no room for a Marshall stack on the pillion seat :lol:
Two bikes, still only four cylinders!

alanfjones1411

Post by alanfjones1411 »

I've had two of them back in the day and wish i still had one.As stratman says about the oil.You will need a drip tray under the engine.Great bikes though.
SO WHEN DOES THIS OLD ENOUGH TO KNOW BETTER KICK IN
Commando77

Post by Commando77 »