Bent valves.

Where all the workshop knowledge lives together.
Yorkie boy

Bent valves.

Post by Yorkie boy »

Hi all, first post from a Refugee in Lancashire. New to Firestorms and the Forum. Mine ( a 1997, 24k miler) suddenly sounded like a bag of marbles had been dropped in her, was cruising gently at 3000revs at the time. From what I gather, chances are that the cct's have gone and I've probably bent some valves - but the Haynes manual basically advises that any valve work is left to the experts with spring compressors, and I'm no expert and don't have a spring compressor. I'll be changing the ccts (stable door and bolting horse!) but is there any way for a novice to assess what damage has been done and how many valves I may need. Grateful for any help/advice.
Cheers.
Kev L

Re: Bent valves.

Post by Kev L »

Welcome to the club mate. Sorry it's in these circumstances. I would only use the Haynes for guidance on torque settings and general info. Search on here for a number of guides to help you through your current predicament, also download the factory manual through the link on here. Good luck. :beer:
Carpe diem, quam minimum credula postero
F3, 954 USD front, K Tech springs, Braced swinger, Penske shock, Six spoke Mockesini wheels, Harris rearsets, QaT, Flywheel diet!, A&L stacks, stick coils, K&N, FP Ti jets, lashings of Ti & CF
monkeymatt

Post by monkeymatt »

To be honest it's relatively easy to unbolt the cylinder head etc assuming damage has been done .
Mine had all 4 valves bent in the front cylinder a few months ago.
And took advantage of stripping the engine down , cleaning internals and replacing parts .cost me approx 300 pound per cylinder but well worth it .
I found the Haynes manual useful for very few articles but found the manuals on here more realistic.. and I looked at the situation to gain a better knowledge of the bike engine. If you were going to attempt a repair yourself just take your time with plenty of photos check and recheck .