My first VTR and How I May Have Made a Big Mistake...

General Biker Banter
eatpasta

My first VTR and How I May Have Made a Big Mistake...

Post by eatpasta »

This is going to sound stupid but I can remember the first time I saw a VTR1000 on the street and I can remember the sound it made.

The first time I saw one in the flesh was at Laguna Seca for world superbike in the late 90's - I loved it immediately - I loved that it was a sport bike but not and was disappointed when it was discontinued after only a few years.

Through the years I came within reach of a VTR a few times but it just never worked out. One time I passed up on a near perfect VTR for an SV1000 with 1200 miles on it.

I actually lost sleep over it.

The SV was very meh but it was probably good that got that out of my system as I wouldn't have ended up with my Speed Triple that may be the last bike I have before I croak.

A little about me - I have been riding for 25 years. At one point I was a decent desert racer on a KTM525 but had a kid who is 4 now and have a kid due next week as well so not a lot of racing going on.
I currently own 7 bikes (Triumph Speed Triple, VTR1000, KTM525, Honda XR650L, Honda XR70R, Honda CB400F, Razor MX350 which Im not sure if counts or not but it has two wheels and a motor so...)
I'm better in the dirt but not a big slouch on the street.
I had an 1150GSA for 95k miles and loved it. The wife and I camped off of it for months and we loved that bike!

ok I digress -

Long story longer, I inherited a near show room 1999 ZX6R that only had ~4K miles on it. The while I-4 sportbike thing has never been my thing but I was doing a 100 mile commute a few times a month so it was nice to have a bike that was good at speed and (relatively) easy on gas.

I never liked the bike, which is to say there was nothing wrong with it... I Just never liked it.